Author: Mathew Wall
Session: Lightning Talk

This session is based on a teaching intervention that I undertook for the PGCtHE. My intervention involved undertaking a module assignment and sharing my work with students during a seminar. The assignment was a 1,000 word blog on UK elections. I provided a sample blog for the students, following closely on the assessment criteria. In the seminar session, I provided the students with this sample blog and have them read and grade it. This inversion of roles was designed to put the students in the position of the lecturer/marker, and to have them think about how to execute a blog that adhered to the assessment guidelines. I also asked the students to provide constructive feedback and we had a detailed discussion where the points raised in the course of this feedback were interrogated and developed. The typical attendance at these seminars ranged from 8-14 students.